The Chain by Adrian McKinty #Netgalley

** Thank you Netgalley and Mulholland Books for my eARC **

Genre: Mystery & Thrillers

My Rating: ⭐⭐⭐ 1/2

Number one: you are not the first and you will certainly not be the last. Number two: remember, it’s not about the money —it’s about The Chain.

Would you kidnap someone’s child in order to rescue yours?

This book starts off intense. I’m not much of a sports fan, but it was like watching game 6 of the 2019 NBA finals (Raptors vs Golden State Warriors). Anything to do with children going missing gives me anxiety!

I had a hard time deciding how to rate this one because the writing fell a little short for me. While it was fast-paced, it read more like a sports commentary. The intensity was there, but it lacked the emotions I wanted to feel. I wanted to feel like it was real..like the pages were coming to life. I think this could have been achieved if the story was told in first person, rather than third.

Overall, it was still a good read. It was addictive and made me wanna keep turning the pages!

Have you read it?

You just dropped off your child at the bus stop. A panicked stranger calls your phone. Your child has been kidnapped, and the stranger explains that their child has also been kidnapped, by a completely different stranger. The only way to get your child back is to kidnap another child within 24 hours. Your child will be released only when the next victim’s parents kidnap yet another child, and most importantly, the stranger explains, if you don’t kidnap a child, or if the next parents don’t kidnap a child, your child will be murdered. You are now part of The Chain.

4 thoughts on “The Chain by Adrian McKinty #Netgalley

Add yours

  1. Gigi, I just finished this book as well and like you, I felt it was the writing that was the drawback. It was at times so simplistic that at one point I checked the cover to see if it was a YA book. Disappointing! Great premise though

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started